Finding time for Still Life, a beginning…

Earlier in the year I started playing around with Still Life photography, it was fun, but something was missing, then I found a Still Life Photography course with Kim Klassen, it was jaw dropping, eye opening into not only Still Life, but also my own life.

I am in my late 40’s and even though I did photography at school as a teenager, I had A) done nothing with it since and B) forgotten pretty much all of it. I have drifted from one job to another, never finding anything that kept my attention for than a few years. I got married, had two beautiful daughters and then, life went on. If I’m honest I was bored and at times a little self destructive, I ate……a lot and paid the price with my health. In 2013 I got sick, and required several operations and hospital trips, then in 2014 I got┬áreally sick……tie up loose ends, say goodbye to loved ones, weeks in hospital sick. It was scary, and emotional, and gave me a new perspective on life.

I want to go into the gory details, but I survived and began the long trip of recovery. Ask anyone whose been that sick, it takes a long time. I spent a lot of time on my own, watching movies, getting depressed, eating (again) and just surfing the web. I found these really cool images of long exposure photographs, I mean really cool and I was mesmerised. I thought if I could just be able to do that, Man that would be something. So I did something a normally timid person like myself would never do, I asked them HOW they did it…….and they told me! WOW. At about this point in time I figured I wasn’t that interested in my job all that much anymore and to get another I needed to improve my Portfolio. So I started my online presence, built a blog, created Instagram, Flickr accounts. Then I stumbled upon a whole world of Photography people on WordPress………and then on various Facebook Groups and then I found Sebastian Michael Photoshop Artistry course and the rest they say is history.

Anyway back to Still Life, as I was saying I started doing Kim’s online class Be Still_52 and loved it, thrived with it, even became addicted to it. I wrote in my Photoshop journal, I completed the whole 12 months in less than 6! I just could not get enough of her Photography and life lessons. I have recently just started her One Year Wiser class and though that I would create a Blog around my Still Life art and journey………..so here we are.

~ Julz, xo

Leave a Reply

