Celebrating achievements…

 

Hello My Friends,

How are you? Have you ever looked back on your photos and see how far you have come on your journey? I am not necessarily talking about your life’s journey…although that can be fun to do, especially with loved ones, but your photographic journey?

After a little coaxing from KK for Week 10 of her My Still Sunday, I have decided to look back on some of my Still Life images and pick four of my favourites.

This is one of the very first photos I took when I started my country inspired, Still Life photos (as opposed to Master Painters inspired images). It is simple and understated. Soft, natural colours and earthy tones. I love the bokeh background of grass and dirt with the rough timber and hessian textures, softened by the white china bowl and eggs. This was shot in late afternoon on a hot humid autumn day. The deep shadows in this spot (behind the garden shed) and so cool and diffused at this time of year)

26044259301_d11635c9b6_z

This is another older shot, even though I am not a huge fan of top down style, I do like this one. There are no real lines to define the piece (It was shot with an old sheet on the floor) I have used the same piece of hessian, but added an old last I usually use as a door stop and some giant antique keys I picked up in a junk store. Even the rose is fake! This was shot on the floor in front of the open studio door, soft morning light and I love the desaturated colours and moody feel of the metal.

26084680246_cd5c338b30_z

This one got lots of comments and like when I first posted on Instagram and Facebook, I mean who doesn’t love cookies and milk (OK so it’s lactose free milk and gluten free cookies – but still). I shot this using my secret weapon, my roll of wallpaper that looks like aged wood. Simply spread it out on a table top and voila……old table! This was backlit on a harsh autumn afternoon, but taken within the shadows of the studio, I also added a side reflector or bounce board to give back some of the light coming in from behind (on a 45 degree angle). I really love the soft muted feel, the natural textures of the wood grain and the cookies.

25579308313_eb4c258e84_o

This is my current favourite……..do you do that have a current favorite? Then you have a new favourite and so on. I was trying to create something Utilitarian for a photo challenge and figured cutlery on a napkin was fairly utilitarian. Lovely linen napkin place over the top of another, using my Grandmother’s antique silver cutlery (fast becoming another favourite). I placed this on a piece of VJ board. I originally had it facing the other direction and it seemed a little flat, so I tied some hessian ribbon around it, still flat. As I was looking around the studio I saw this dying flower (cosmos?) and babies breathe and placed them between the napkins……a few loose petals fell and I thought it needs a few more………so I pulled a few more petals and sprinkled them around.

I adore the pop of purple against the neutral pallette I also used a slightly lower F/stop  to create some drama between the flower in focus and softening off as you look back. The soft subtle side light glinting off the cutlery.

Spark 1 - Utilitarian

So what are you favourite images? What do you think of my selection?

~ Julz, xo

 

Leave a Reply

